Tonka Toy Tuning Tool

4 11 2009

In FM2 I designed what became known as the Tonka Toy as a tuning tool.  I had collected the default suspension settings of all the R-Class cars as well as a large number of the production cars.  Collecting all the data I looked at happened over several months with the help of several people at http://forza-tuning.net.   With this data it was obvious there were distinct trends that Turn 10 used to set up the springs, arbs and shocks of all cars and it was very apparent that the R-Classes boiled down to some simple relationships.   I implemented these trends in a spreadsheet that let you pick an R-Class to mimic with your production car and it would provide suspension settings based on Blooze’s concept of weight bias tuning.

Until I have the time to collect this data in FM3 the Tonka Toy is on hold.  For now I’m primarily running solo career with stock cars.  It will be a few weeks at least before I dive into gathering all the stats that I need to do this again in FM3.  Even though I offered it up for free, I never pimped out my work over at the main Forza forum, so I never had the following of some of the other tuners.  I received very little feedback overall, so I have no idea how many people used it.


Actions

Information

One response

31 12 2009
Purestankonia

I really liked the tonka tool in fm2. I turned to it as the tuning calc of choice. The ease with which you could balance a car is what I really liked about it. Thanks for releasing it to us.

Leave a comment