Xbox External SSD

23 11 2017

This is an FYI for those having gui lags in Forza. I bought a 500GB Samsung Evo 850 and a generic external USB3 housing for my original Xbox ages ago to improve load times. Which did work, but it isn’t cheap. At the time I think it was around $300. I have a descent job and few expenses so this was reasonable to me. YMMV

When I got my X1X at launch I only used the SSD to transfer games to the new console since load time were supposed to be faster on the X1X. Last week I got fed up with lags, freezes and crashes browsing my garage and moved Forza 7 to the SSD. Problem solved. I haven’t seen any garage lags since.

I think Forza does a poor job caching graphics and can’t deal well with rapid random access to the stock hard drive. Pretty much any SSD over USB3 should have faster read times than any internal 5400rpm spinning disk. 

Prices on SSDs keep dropping, so this is an upgrade I’d recommend. 


Actions

Information

Leave a comment